Computermuseum der Fakultät Informatik deutsch

Diehl Combitron =S=

Detail

The complete Combitron equipment At the left the Diehl Dilector, a paper tape reader to enter numbers and programs. It is coupled to the keyboard and sends the corresponding keycode according to the perforation to the computer. In front of the Dilector one of those little helpers of data processing: a manual punch for paper tapes. The book from Dietrich Marsal in the middle (former visiting professor at the University of Stuttgart) contains descriptions and examples to several electronic calculators, amongst them the Diehl Combitron. One of the examples is a program to calculate the faculty of 1 to n, i.e. 1!, 2! and so on.

Diehl Dilector
The Diehl Dilector

With the help of the wheel, one of up to nine programs can be selected which the Dilector will seek to automatically. Therefore a special code with the desired program number can be punched ahead of the data. When pressing the red start button the Dilector skips everything until it finds the correct number and transmits the following codes to the computer.

Keyboard
The keyboard and the digit indicator

Since the entry of a number is done invisibly, i.e. the digits entered so far are not visible anywhere, a workaround has been implemented with the digit indicator. It displays the number of entered digits with a light spot (which travels from the right to the left).


Some technical details

Mounting diagram
Mounting diagram of the CPU

The red markings denote most of the signals within the CPU; see also the schematics below.

Overview of CPU
Overview of the CPU

In the top third of the board are the clock and phase generators, in the bottom third are the flip-flops of the CPU, and the rest of the diode gates form the logic of the machine.

Schematic CPU
Schematic diagram of the CPU including read/write amplifiers

The work of a pure genius called Stanley Frankel - a complete computer that implements the four basic arithmetic operations as well as several transfer, test and jump orders.

Mounting diagram read amplifiers
Mounting diagram of the read amplifiers

more pictures...

back homepage Copyright Computermuseum Stuttgart

Computermuseum der Fakultät Informatik english

Diehl Combitron =S=

Detail

Die komplette Combitron-Anlage Links im Bild sieht man den Diehl Dilector, einen Lochstreifenleser zum Einlesen von Zahlen und Programmen. Er ist mit der Tastatur gekoppelt und sendet entsprechend der Lochung den zugehörigen Tastencode an den Rechner. Davor eines der kleinen Helferlein der Datenverarbeitung: ein Handlocher für Lochstreifen. Das Buch in der Mitte von Dietrich Marsal (ehem. Gastprofessor an der Universität Stuttgart) enthält Beschreibung und Beispiele zu einigen elektronischen Tischrechnern, darunter auch zur Diehl Combitron. Es enthält u.a. ein Programm zur Berechnung der Fakultät von 1 bis n, d.h. 1!, 2! usw.

Diehl Dilector
Der Diehl Dilector

Über das Einstellrad kann man eines von bis zu neun Programmen auswählen, das der Dilector automatisch suchen kann. Dazu kann man einen speziellen Code mit der gewünschten Programmnummer vor den eigentlichen Daten stanzen. Mit der roten Starttaste überliest der Dilector alles, bis er die gesuchte Nummer findet und überträgt die folgenden Codes zum Rechner.

Tastatur
Die Tastatur und die Stellenanzeige aus der Nähe

Da die Eingabe einer Zahl im Verborgenen geschieht, also die bisher eingegebenen Ziffern nirgens erscheinen, wurde eine Notlösung mit der Stellenanzeige ge- schaffen. Sie zeigt mittels Leuchtpunkt (welcher von rechts nach links wandert) die bisher eingegebenen Stellen an.


Technische Details

Bestückungsplan
Bestückungsplan der CPU

Die rot hinterlegten Bezeichnungen bezeichnen die meisten Signale in der CPU; siehe auch den Schaltplan der CPU weiter unten.

Gesamtansicht der CPU
Gesamtansicht der CPU

Im oberen Drittel der Platine befinden sich die Takt- und Phasengeneratoren, im unteren Drittel die Flip-Flops der CPU, und der Rest der Diodengatter bildet die Logik der Maschine.

Schaltplan CPU
Schaltplan der CPU inkl. Leseverstärker

Das Werk eines Genies namens Stanley Frankel - ein kompletter Computer, der die vier Grundrechenarten sowie diverse Transfer-, Test- und Sprungbefehle beherrscht.

Bestückungsplan Leseverstärker
Bestückungsplan des Leseverstärkers

weitere Bilder...

zurück zur Homepage des Computermuseums Copyright Computermuseum Stuttgart